linkedin gif

+33 1 42 54 60 64

Home >  EU Funding news >  News

Thursday, April 12, 2012

The 2014 European Green Capital competition has come up with its three finalists

Town planning, Public Management, Local development, Health, Energy, Environment, Industry, Citizenship,Research centres,Local and Regional authorities,Corporations,Training centres,Federations Unions,Development NGOs,SMEs,Universities,Non-profit organisations,

News The European Union has selected Bristol, Copenhagen and Frankfurt among the 18 candidate cities for the price of the Green Capital of Europe 2014. Evaluation of applications according to 12 criteria was conducted by an independent panel of experts.

List of the 12 criteria:

- Local contribution to global climate chang

- Local transport

- Green urban areas incorporating sustainable land use

- Nature and biodiversity

- Quality of local ambient air

- Noise pollution

- Waste production and management

- Water consumption

- Waste water treatment

- Eco innovation and sustainable employment

- Environmental management of the local authority

- Energy performance.

Four cities have been awarded the title of European Green Capital since its inception in 2010. Stockholm won the inaugural title, followed by Hamburg in 2011, the current holder Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain, and Nantes, who will hold the title in 2013.

Bristol, Copenhagen and Frankfurt will present their vision, action plans, communication strategy and their potential to act as a role model for other cities to the Jury on 8 June 2012 in Brussels. The Jury will deliver its verdict at an award ceremony in Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain on 29 June.


The European Green Capital Award is presented to a city in the vanguard of environmentally friendly urban living. A panel of experts evaluates the cities on the basis of 12 environmental indicators, judging them on their record of achieving high environmental standards, their commitment to ongoing and ambitious goals for further environmental improvement and sustainable development, and the extent to which they can act as a role model and promote best practice in other European cities.

The jury comprises representatives from the European Commission, the European Parliament, the Committee of the Regions, the European Environment Agency, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, the Covenant of Mayors Office and the European Environmental Bureau.

Source :  European Commission - Press release

More information  European Green Capital


Latest news



Welcomeurope, 161 rue Montmartre, 75002 Paris | Tél . : +33 1 42 54 60 64 / Fax : +33 1 42 54 70 04

© Welcomeurope 2000-2018