linkedin gif

+33 1 42 54 60 64
Login & Registration

Home >  EU Funding news >  News

Monday, January 29, 2007

EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture: seven nominees for the 2007 Mies van der Rohe Award

Culture - Media,Local and Regional authorities,Agencies Chambers,SMEs,

News The jury of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2007 - has selected the seven finalists for the Award, one of the most important and prestigious on the international architecture scene.

The name of the winner will be known by mid-April. The selection is a faithful reflection of the main objective underlying the Award, namely to acknowledge excellent and innovative projects characterised by high-quality construction and to recognise the best architectural works built in Europe in the past two years. By supporting this Award, the European Commission underlines the role that cultural activities play as engines of creativity and innovation in Europe. The jury has also singled out 33 works which, because of their exceptional quality, will be included in the exhibition and catalogue of the 2007 Award. These works are located in Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey and the United Kingdom. The jury made its selection from an initial list of 273 projects from 32 countries completed between 1 January 2005 and 31 December 2006 which were proposed by a sizable group of independent international experts and the European National Associations of architects. The seven finalists are: Pôle universitaire de sciences de gestion (School for Management), Bordeaux, France. Architect : Anne Lacaton & Jean Philippe Vassal/Lacaton & Vassal Architectes Centre Chorégraphique National (National Choreographic Centre), Aix-en-Provence, France. (Rudy Ricciotti) Phaeno Science Centre, Wolfsburg, Germany. Architects : Zaha Hadid/Zaha Hadid Architects Mercedes-Benz Museum, Stuttgart, Germany. Architects : Ben van Berkel/UN Studio Centro de Artes de Sines (Sines Art Centre), Sines, Portugal. Architects : Manuel Aires Mateus, Francisco Aires Mateus/Aires Mateus e Associados Edificio Veles e Vents (America’s Cup Building), Valencia, Spain. Architects. David Chipperfield, Fermin Vásquez/David Chipperfield MUSAC Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León (MUSAC Contemporary Art Museum of Castilla y León), León, Spain. Architects : Luis M. Mansilla, Emilio Tuñón/Mansilla + Tuñón. The award ceremony will take place in the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona on 14 May 2007. The Award winner will receive a prize of 50.000 €, while the Emerging Architect Special Mention is endowed with the sum of 10.000 €. The winner of the 2005 Award was the building of the Dutch Embassy in Germany designed by OMA/Rem Koolhaas and Ellen van Loon. The Emerging Architect Special mention went to NL Architects/Pieter Bannenberg, Walter van Dijk, Kamiel Klaasse and Mark Linnemann for their BasketBar in Utrecht.

Source :  Foundation Mies van der Rohe




Welcomeurope, 161 rue Montmartre, 75002 Paris | Tél . : +33 1 42 54 60 64 / Fax : +33 1 42 54 70 04

© Welcomeurope 2000-2018

Welcome to This site uses cookie to improve the analysis of the website and the quality of services. By using our site, you agree to use the cookies. More