linkedin gif

+33 1 42 54 60 64
Login & Registration

Home >  EU Funding news >  News

Friday, December 16, 2016

The European Parliament awards the 2016 Sakharov Prize to Nadia Mourad Bassi Taha and Lamiya Aji Bachar

Culture - Media, Information, Humanitarian, Human Rights,-,

News The Sakharov prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded every year by the European Parliament to exceptional individuals or organisations fighting against oppression, intolerance and injustice.

Nadia Mourad Bassi Taha and Lamiya Aji Bashar survived the sexual slavery to which they had been subjected by the Islamic State and became the symbol of women victims of sexual violence on the part of that organization. They are also spokespersons for the Yezidi community in Iraq, a religious minority that has been the target of a genocide perpetrated by the Daesh fighters. "By awarding the Sakharov Prize to Nadia Mourad Bassi Taha and Lamiya Aji Bashar, we prove that their struggle has not been in vain [...]" said the President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz.

Source :  Press release of the European Parliament




28 June - 20 September 2019, Online consultation
24 September - 26 September 2019, Brussels
26 September, Brussels
15 October - 16 October 2019, Brussels


Welcomeurope, 161 rue Montmartre, 75002 Paris | Tél . : +33 1 42 54 60 64 / Fax : +33 1 42 54 70 04

© Welcomeurope 2000-2018

Welcome to This site uses cookie to improve the analysis of the website and the quality of services. By using our site, you agree to use the cookies. More