linkedin gif

+33 1 42 54 60 64
Login & Registration

Home >  EU Funding news >  News

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

New members for Horizon 2020

Employment, Research, Public Management, Information, Innovation, New technologies, Co-op & Development,Research centres,Local and Regional authorities,Administrations States,SMEs,Universities,

News Five Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia), and the Republic of Moldova today secured full access to the European Union's new seven year research and innovation programme, Horizon 2020.

The six countries signed association agreements in Brussels together with Robert-Jan Smits, Director-General for Research and Innovation at the European Commission. All six countries have experience of cooperation on research and innovation with the EU through the seventh framework programme (FP7), and are seeking to build on this under Horizon 2020.

Researchers, businesses and other research partners from the six countries are already well embedded in EU research projects and networks. The fact that all the countries are associating at the same time will also increase the opportunities for regional cooperation, To get the most out of Horizon 2020, all six countries need to build upon their experience of FP7 and strengthen national research and innovation capacities. Although participation of SMEs is still limited, the number of small enterprises engaging in research and innovation is increasing, which is another good step towards successful participation in Horizon 2020 given the programme's greater focus on the entire innovation chain, from the lab to the market.

The association agreements, which will apply retroactively as from 1 January 2014, will allow research and innovation entities from all five Western Balkan Countries and Moldova to take advantage of the funding opportunities offered under Horizon 2020 right from the start. Horizon 2020 runs from 2014 to 2020. Following today's signatures, 10 countries are now associated to Horizon 2020.  


The agreements were signed by the following representatives from the six countries:

Albania: Lindita NIKOLLA, Minister of Education and Culture and Sports

Bosnia and Herzegovina: H.E. Igor DAVIDOVIC, Ambassador and Head of Mission of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the EU

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: Mr Abdilaqim ADEMI, Minister for Education and Science

Montenegro: Prof. Sanja VLAHOVIC, Minister of Science

Serbia: Dr Srdjan VERBIC, Minister of Education, Science and Technological Development

Moldova: Gheorghe DUCA, President of the National Academy of Sciences of Moldova

Source :  Press of the European Commission

More information




30 November - 30 September 2020, French regional capitals
04 March - 06 March 2020, Maastricht, Netherlands
23 March - 25 March 2020, Berlin
06 April - 10 April 2020, Barcelona, Spain
27 April - 29 April 2020, Strasbourg


Welcomeurope, 161 rue Montmartre, 75002 Paris | Tél . : +33 1 42 54 60 64 / Fax : +33 1 42 54 70 04

© Welcomeurope 2000-2018

Welcome to This site uses cookie to improve the analysis of the website and the quality of services. By using our site, you agree to use the cookies. More