linkedin gif

+33 1 42 54 60 64
Login & Registration

Home >  EU Funding news >  News

Friday, January 15, 2010

Milow (Belgium) wins the first Public Choice EBBA

Culture - Media, Youth,Federations Unions,Non-profit organisations,

News The 2010 European Border Breaker Awards (EBBA's) were presented by the European Commission in a TV show spectacle on the opening night of the EuroSonic Noorderslag Festival in Groningen (the Netherlands), in the presence of H.R.H. Princess Máxima of the Netherlands, numerous VIP’s and 1200 visitors. The awards' show, which featured live performances by eight of the ten award-winning acts, will be broadcast throughout Europe in the coming days and weeks. After an online vote, the Belgian winner Milow was awarded the first ever Public Choice EBBA.

By granting these awards, the European Commission, in cooperation with the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), rewards debut artists and groups who have successfully crossed national borders and reached audiences outside their home country. At the same time the prizes highlight and promote the richness and diversity of European music, its creativity, and its role in bringing people together and forging mutual understanding. The show was presented by BBC-TV personality Jools Holland and former EBBA winner Ida Corr and included live performances of Milow, Esmee Denters, Kerli, Sliimy, Jenny Wilson, Giusy Ferreri, Charlie Winston and Soap&Skin. Peter Fox and Buraka Som Sistema were unable to attend but sent a video message. The show received European coverage through the EBU broadcasting network of European television and radio stations in the following territories: The Netherlands, Bulgary, Estonia, Luxemburg, Portugal, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Austria, Germany, Ireland, Finland and Slovakia. This year's winners of a European Border Breakers Award are: * Charlie Winston (UK) - “Hobo” * Esmee Denters (NL) – “Outta Here” * Sliimy (FR) – “Paint Your Face” * Jenny Wilson (SE) – “Hardships” * Milow (BE) – “Milow” * Giusy Ferreri (IT) – “Gaetana” * Soap&Skin (AU) – “ Lovetune For Vacuum” * Peter Fox (GE) – “Stadtaffe” * Kerli (EST) – “Love Is Dead” * Buraka Som Sistema (PT) – “Black Diamond” The European Border Breakers Awards highlight the need to open up the European market to European creativity and to stimulate the mobility of artists and their work within Europe and beyond. They are funded through the EU Culture Programme, which also funds the European Union Contemporary Architecture Prize, the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage and the European Union Prize for Literature. More information: Website EBBA:

Source :  European Border Breakers Awards

More information  European Border Breakers Awards




30 November - 30 September 2020, French regional capitals
04 March - 06 March 2020, Maastricht, Netherlands
23 March - 25 March 2020, Berlin
06 April - 10 April 2020, Barcelona, Spain
08 April, Brussels


Welcomeurope, 161 rue Montmartre, 75002 Paris | Tél . : +33 1 42 54 60 64 / Fax : +33 1 42 54 70 04

© Welcomeurope 2000-2018

Welcome to This site uses cookie to improve the analysis of the website and the quality of services. By using our site, you agree to use the cookies. More