linkedin gif

+33 1 42 54 60 64
Login & Registration

Home >  EU Funding news >  News

Monday, January 12, 2009

To reward musicians on the bases of the number of albums sold outside their national territory : the 2009 European Border Breakers Awards show

Culture - Media, Information,

News This show will be held in Groningen on 15 January 2009 on the opening night of the EuroSonic Noorderslag festival.

There will be live performances by five of the ten winning acts: AaRON (France), Cinema Bizarre (Germany), Kraak & Smaak (Netherlands), Ida Corr (Denmark) and Lykke Li (Sweden). Also performing will be Gabriel Rios, who won an EBBA in 2007. In giving these awards the European Commission, in cooperation with the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), wishes to reward debut artists' and groups' success in crossing national borders and reaching wider audiences. At the same time the prizes highlight and promote the richness and diversity of European music, its creativity and its contribution to innovation. Five EBBA-winners will perform live during the show: AaRON (FR), Cinema Bizarre (DE), Kraak & Smaak (NL), Ida Corr (DK) and Lykke Li (SE). Video messages of the five other winning acts will also be presented during the show. A special guest performance will be given by 2007 EBBA-winner, Gabriel Rios (B). The show will be presented by the well-known TV personality Jools Holland, who will also perform with his Rhythm and Blues Orchestra. This year's winners (artists' name / album title) of a European Border Breakers Award are: - Adele (UK) - “19” - Alphabeat (Denmark) – “Alphabeat” - AaRON (France) – “Artificial Animals Riding on Neverland” - Cinema Bizarre (Germany) – “Final Attraction” - The Dø (France) – “A Mouthful” - Kraak & Smaak (Netherlands) – “Boogie Angst” - Ida Corr (Denmark) – “One” - Lykke Li (Sweden) – “Youth Novels” - The Script (Ireland) – “The Script” - The Ting Tings (UK) – “We Started Nothing” The awards ceremony takes place on January 15th at 20:30, at the De Oosterpoort Theatre, Groningen, and will be recorded by Dutch national television (NOS) for broadcast on Saturday 17 January from 20:15. The show will receive European coverage through the EBU broadcasting network of European television and radio stations. The European Border Breakers Awards highlight the existing need to open up the European markets to European creativity and to stimulate the mobility of artists and their work within Europe and beyond. These awards honour those debut artists, groups, the companies, composers and text writers who succeed in reaching audiences outside their own country.

Source :  European Border Breakers Awards

More information  Press room - European Commission




30 November - 30 September 2020, French regional capitals
04 March - 06 March 2020, Maastricht, Netherlands
23 March - 25 March 2020, Berlin
06 April - 10 April 2020, Barcelona, Spain
08 April, Brussels


Welcomeurope, 161 rue Montmartre, 75002 Paris | Tél . : +33 1 42 54 60 64 / Fax : +33 1 42 54 70 04

© Welcomeurope 2000-2018

Welcome to This site uses cookie to improve the analysis of the website and the quality of services. By using our site, you agree to use the cookies. More