linkedin gif

+33 1 42 54 60 64
Login & Registration

Home >  EU Funding news >  News

Thursday, January 16, 2014

The winners of the 2014 EBBAs announced

Culture - Media,-,

News European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Eurosonic Noorderslag, the European music conference and showcase festival had annouced the winners of the 2014 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBAs), celebrating the best new pop acts in Europe which have achieved cross-border chart success.

The winners of the 2014 EBBAs are:

GuGabriel (Austria), Lukas Graham (Denmark), Woodkid (France), Zedd (Germany), Asgeir (Iceland), Kodaline (public choice award - Irland), Jacco Gardner (Netherlands), Envy (Norway), Icona Pop (Sweden), Disclosure (United Kingdom).

To be eligible for the awards, the artists must have achieved border-breaking success with their first international release in Europe between 1 August 2012 and 31 July 2013. The winners are selected by market analyst Nielsen Music Control on the basis of sales and broadcast frequency, as well as votes castby European Broadcasting Union radio stations and music festivals supporting the European Talent Exchange Programme.


The winners will receive their awards in a ceremony hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland atthe Eurosonic Noorderslag festival in Groningen, Netherlands, on 15 January 2014. The ceremony – including performances by all or most of the winning acts – will be streamed live via YouTube and broadcast by Dutch National Television (NTR), as well as other European TV channels and radio stations.

One of the winners will receive a Public Choice Award based on votes cast from 1 November to 20 December on the EBBAs website. Up to 15 voters will be invited to the award ceremony: each will be able to bring a friend and the prize includes their flight and hotel costs.

Former winners of the EBBAs include Adele, Stromae, Emeli Sandé, Gabriel Rios, Of Monsters and Men, Mumford & Sons, Caro Emerald, Lykke Li, The Darkness, Katie Melua, The Ting Tings, C2C, Tokio Hotel, The Script, Zaz, Swedish House Mafia, Saybia, Damien Rice, KT Tunstall, Alphabeat, Milow and Afrojack.

Now in their eleventh year, the awards are funded by the EU Culture Programme and organised by Eurosonic Noorderslag, in partnership with the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). The European Border Breakers Awards are supported by Buma Cultuur, SNN, Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Province of Groningen, City of Groningen and the European Music Office.

Eurosonic Noorderslag is Europe’s biggest music conference and showcase festival, aiming to boost European acts. Eurosonic Noorderslag also organises the European Talent Exchange Programme (ETEP), which helps ensure that hot new talents in Europe are on the bill at major European music festivals.

In cultural terms, Europe is a fragmented market with many small countries and a large number of languages. As a consequence, it is often difficult for artists to work internationally and achieve sales success across borders. The EBBAs seek to help artists overcome these obstacles.

The European music industry makes a significant contribution to growth and jobs, as part of the cultural and creative sectors which provide jobs for more than 8 million people in the EU and up to 4.5% of Europe's GDP. The total value of the EU recorded music market is around € 6 billion a year. The European recorded music market presents around a fifth of the total music market which is worth close to € 30 billion.

In January 2014, the Commission will launch Creative Europe, its new funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors. It aims to strengthen the international competitiveness of the sectors and to promote cultural diversity. It is envisaged that the new programme will have a total budget of €1.46 billion1 in 2014-2020. This represents a 9% increase compared with current funding levels.

Source :  Press of the Commission




30 November - 30 September 2020, French regional capitals
27 July - 20 September 2020, Online
23 September - 25 September 2020, Berlin
23 September - 24 September 2020, Online
30 September - 02 October 2020, Mannheim


Welcomeurope, 161 rue Montmartre, 75002 Paris | Tél . : +33 1 42 54 60 64 / Fax : +33 1 42 54 70 04

© Welcomeurope 2000-2018

Welcome to This site uses cookie to improve the analysis of the website and the quality of services. By using our site, you agree to use the cookies. More