Aarhus and Paphos: European Capitals of Culture 2017

January 2, 2017

Hat: On 1 January 2017, two Danish and Cypriot cities, Aarhus and Paphos were awarded of the title of European Capital of Culture.

Funding Scheme: 2017-01-02

Pgm2014 2020: Yes


Each year, the Council appoints two cities among EU member states as European Capital of Culture.
The EU makes a financial contribution to help fund events, in the form of the Melina Mercouri prize.


The cultural programme will officially begin on 21 January in Aarhus. The opening ceremony for Pafos 2017 will take place on 28 January. ‘Rethink’ is the central theme of Aarhus 2017. The Danish city will show how arts, culture and the creative sector can help us to re-think and shape our basic social, urban, cultural and economic patterns of behaviour. ‘Linking Continents, Bridging Cultures’ is the common thread running through hundreds of events organised by Pafos 2017.

Url description: Press room - European Commission

Url: http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-16-4449_en.htm