+33(0)1 42 54 60 64 | contact@welcomeurope.com

2019-2024: Agreement reached on future EU leaders

The Extraordinary European Council, which began on 30th June, has adopted on 2nd July its conclusions on appointments for the next institutional cycle 2019-2024.

The Heads of State or Government agreed on the choice of the President of the European Commission, the President of the European Council, the President of the European Central Bank and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy. First conclusions: two women and two men and a predominance of Western Europe.

  • The Presidency of the European Commission will be held by the current German Minister of Defence and former Minister for Family Affairs, Ursula VON DER LEYEN.
  • The current Belgian Prime Minister, Charles MICHEL, has been elected President of the European Council for a period of two and a half years (12/2019-05/2022). He will succeed former Polish Prime Minister Donald TUSK. 
  • The current President of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Christine LAGARDE, is proposed by the European Council as President of the European Central Bank. She will replace the Italian Mario DRAGHI.
  • Finally, the designated successor to the Italian Federica MOGHERINI as High Representative is the Spanish and current Minister for Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation Josep BORELL FONTELLES.

On Wednesday 3rd July, MEPs elected the new President of the European Parliament for two and a half years: Italian and member of the Socialist and Democrat (S&D) Group, David SASSOLI.

The European Parliament will vote on Ursula VON DER LEYEN’s candidacy on 16th July.



Test your eligibility

Similar news