+33(0)1 42 54 60 64 | contact@welcomeurope.com

European Commission reminds 11 Member States against waste from single-use plastics

Legal steps have been taken by Commission today against Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, France, Croatia, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, and Finland to step up them the implementation of the Single-Use Plastics Directive. These Member States have not communicated the measures necessary to ensure the full transposition of the Directive.

The Directive entered into force on 3 July 2019 and Member States had two years to transpose the legislation into national law, so that the obligations under the Directive start being implemented on the ground.

In January 2022, the Commission launched infringement procedures and sent, as a first step, letters of formal notice to 16 Member States that had not yet fully transposed the Single-Use Plastics Directive in national law.

Complete transposition measures are still missing for Belgium, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, and Finland. The Commission therefore decided to issue reasoned opinions to those countries. Denmark and France had initially indicated that their transposition was complete, but after analysis, the Commission found that some provisions were missing.

The Commission may decide to refer the cases to the Court of Justice of the European Union with a proposal to impose financial sanctions.



Source : Circular Economy : Commission takes action to reduce waste from single-use plastics


Test your eligibility

Similar news

2022-10-07 09:32:25

100 new regions and local authorities sign up to the EU Mission for Adaptation to Climate Change

Lire l'aticle

2022-09-30 11:51:56

Young Europeans take part in the ecological transition thanks to EUTeens4Green

Lire l'aticle