Increased Commission support for industrial transition

March 7, 2018

Hat: Increased Commission support for industrial transition

Funding Scheme: 2018-03-07

Pgm2014 2020: Yes


In the framework of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), the European Commission continues its commitment to help industrial regions to build resilient and competitive economies.


Today, seven additional EU regions and Member States have been selected by the Commission for tailor-made assistance under the pilot action of the Commission on Industrial Transition: Cantabria (Spain), Centre-Val de Loire (France), East-North Finland, Grand-Est (France) and Greater Manchester (United Kingdom), as well as Lithuania and Slovenia.

The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) contributes to the amount of 200 000 euro per region to cover the costs of external expertise potentially needed to support the work of the regions. A maximum grant of 300 000 euro per region, also under the ERDF, will support the rapid implementation of their regional economic transformation strategies, provided they are at a sufficiently advanced stage.

Url description: Press room - European Commission