The two capitals of culture 2013, Marseille and Košice recommended as winner for the European Melina Mercouri Prize

June 7, 2013

Funding Scheme: 2013-06-07

Pgm2014 2020: Yes


The jury of the European Melina Mercouri Prize recommends awarding the cities of Marseille and Košice, to reward the quality of their commitment as European capitals in 2013. Each city, if it wins, will receive a budget of 1.5 million euro.


As with all cities which have held the title of European Capital of Culture, Marseille and Košice have been assessed by a monitoring and advisory panel which ensures that their programme meets the criteria for the title and respects the pledges made by the cities before they were officially designated.

The cultural programme for the year must have a strong European dimension, reflected in the themes chosen and through the involvement of artists and cultural operators from different countries. The cities must also ensure that the event is attractive for the public and that it achieves a lasting impact by contributing to the long-term cultural and social development of the city.

The second and final monitoring meeting for the 2013 Capitals took place in Brussels at the end of April. In its report, published today, the panel commends the cities for their preparations and states that the Commission should award both the Melina Mercouri Prize, which is named after the former Greek Culture Minister who inspired the launch of the European Capital of Culture initiative in 1985.


The European Capital of Culture is an excellent opportunity for the cities to change their image, to put themselves on the global map, attract more tourists, and to re-think their development through culture for the benefit of their residents. The title has a long-term impact, not only on culture but also in social and economic terms, both for the city and for the surrounding region.

Following Marseille and Košice in 2013, the future European Capitals of Culture will be Umeå (Sweden) and Riga (Latvia) in 2014, Mons (Belgium) and Plzeň (Czech Republic) in 2015, and Donostia-San Sebastian (Spain) and Wroclaw (Poland) in 2016.

European monitoring and assessment panel

The panel consists of seven members appointed by the European institutions. They are:
– Appointed by the European Commission: Manfred Gaulhofer (Austria), Director-General of Graz 2003 and manager of many European projects; Sir Jeremy Isaacs (UK), television producer and former director of the Royal Opera, Covent Garden.
– Appointed by the Council: Erna Hennicot-Schoepges (Luxembourg), former Minister for Culture, MEP and member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, currently chairwoman of many national and international cultural organisations; Constantin Chiriac (Romania), former vice-chairman of Sibiu 2007 and currently director of the national theatre Radu Stanca.
– Appointed by the European Parliament: Steve Green (UK), researcher in cultural policy; Jordi Pardo (Spain), responsible for projects in the field of international culture.
– Appointed by the Committee of the Regions: Elisabeth Vitouch (Austria), a member of the Committee of the Regions’ Commission for Culture and local councillor in Austria.

Url description: European Commission Press