Program

REPowerEU : solution ou illusion ?

publié le 26 July 2022

In light of the armed conflict in Ukraine, Europe had to act quickly to end its geostrategic dependence on Russian fossil fuels. The REPowerEU Action Plan initiative responds to this goal of an energy independent Europe by 2030. This article aims to highlight the emergence of the REPowerEU plan and to analyse some of the issues raised by its implementation.

The emergence of the REPowerEU plan

The impetus of the geostrategic context

The European Union (EU) has had no choice but to find a strategy to break away from Russian hegemony in energy imports. 100 billion a year is paid to Russia for the supply of fossil fuels. This obvious dependence has often been challenged, but it is the war in Ukraine that has given Europe the final incentive to take action.

As a result, the European Commission (EC) has had to adapt to cease being a source of funding for Russia, to move away from Russian fossil fuels by 2030 and to redefine an energy strategy closer to European values and the Green Deal. To achieve these objectives, the Commission will have to find alternatives to Russian imports, equivalent to 40% of gas, 27% of oil and 46% of coal imported into the EU.

In response to this new challenge, the REPowerEU Plan: Joint European Action for More Affordable, Secure and Sustainable Energy was presented in a Commission Communication of 8 March 2022.

Towards a European energy sovereignty

The different packages of European sanctions are a first step towards achieving this energy independence. The various economic sanctions include a ban on imports of coal and oil from Russia and a ban on new investments in the Russian energy sector.

The REPowerEU energy plan, developed in line with the “Fit for 55” package of proposals, is based on two pillars:

– Diversification of gas supply, through increased imports of liquefied natural gas (LNG) and pipeline imports from non-Russian suppliers, as well as increased levels of biomethane and hydrogen.

– Faster reduction of dependence on fossil fuels in homes, buildings and industry, and in electricity systems, by increasing the share of renewable energy.

To achieve these ambitious targets quickly, the Commission estimates that additional investments of €210 billion by 2027 are needed.

The questioning of the implementation of the REPowerEU plan

Debatable financing

The first source of funding is the abandonment of Russian fossil fuel imports, which could save the EU up to 100 billion euros per year; but the plan will be financed mainly through national recovery plans. The financial envelope of the Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF), the key instrument of the NextGenerationEU recovery plan, already makes €225bn available in loans.

The Commission proposes to complement the RRF with

– €20 billion in grants from the sale of EU Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS) allowances, which will be auctioned so as not to disrupt the market.
– €26.9 billion from the Cohesion Fund made available as voluntary transfers to the RIF.

These transfers allow Member States to take some of the funds they pay into the Cohesion Fund and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development and use them to finance REPowerEU. But this prospect is not well received by the European Parliament’s Committee on Regional Development (REGI), which is putting up a barrier. Its chairman Younous Omarjee said: “The question of transfers has already been negotiated and closed (…). The already existing possibility of transfers of 5% represents a sufficient contribution of cohesion policy to the objectives of REPowerEU, especially since the initial position of the European Parliament was to reject any transfer.”

In a Communication of 18 May 2022, the EC announced that it would extend the possibility of transfers from 5% to 12.5% under the REPowerEU plan, provided that the Member States had used the 5% transfer possibility already available. Despite the concerns of the REGI Committee, the European Parliament states in its resolution of 23 June 2022 (2021/2251(INI)) that it “(…) welcomes, in this context, the proposal to encourage the optimal use of loans available under the RRF”.

Sharing the same fears as the REGI Committee, the Regions of France sent a letter to their President of the Republic on 20 May explaining that REPowerEU could be the “Trojan horse” of a form of renationalisation of cohesion policy.

What will be the impact of this larger transfer for local and regional authorities, associations and other structures benefiting from European programme funds, which will see part of their funding withdrawn?

Relative efficiency

As the 27 defend different positions on energy, it is certain that the implementation of this energy plan, particularly the legislative aspect, will be the subject of long debates. The Commission seems confident, but there are already many critics about the ambitions and constraints of the REPowerEU plan: absence of a common action plan, fossil fuels still too present, risk for energy security due to the diversification of supply, insufficient cost estimates, project qualified as too ambitious.

It is also important to avoid hasty investment decisions that would only perpetuate European dependence. The bulk purchase of LNG from the United States, which clearly states that it wants to replace Russia as its main supplier, or the purchase of photovoltaic panels from China, which had prevailed in the last negotiations. Don’t these investments just shift the source of dependence?

On the energy market, Europe is obviously dependent on imports because the resources on European soil are insufficient, at least in the short term. Therefore, even if some of the criticisms are well-founded, the European Commission has no choice but to act quickly to counterbalance the end of the Russian-European energy partnership.

 

Imane Mouchi

Eurofunding gathers more than 300 European grant programs updated and linked to weekly alerts on calls for projects. Subscribe for free and don't miss any more opportunities.

Subscribe to Eurofunding

Similar news

25 August 2021

Webinar Horizon Europe: Guide to prepare an accurate financial statement on time

Read the article

9 June 2021

Welcomeurope’s new service!

Read the article

Programs

Next Generation EU 2021-2027
European Cohesion Fund - 2021-2027

01 42 54 60 64 | contact@welcomeurope.com

Programme

REPowerEU : solution ou illusion ?

publié le 26 juillet 2022

Dans le contexte du conflit armé en Ukraine, l’Europe a dû agir rapidement pour mettre fin à sa dépendance géostratégique vis-à-vis des combustibles fossiles russes. L’initiative du plan d’action REPowerEU répond à cet objectif d’une Europe énergétiquement indépendante d’ici 2030. Cet article vise à mettre en avant l’émergence du plan REPowerEU et à analyser certaines interrogations soulevées quant à sa mise en œuvre.

L’émergence du plan REPowerEU 

L’impulsion du contexte géostratégique

L’Union européenne (UE) n’a pas eu d’autre choix que de trouver une stratégie pour se défaire de l’hégémonie russe en termes d’importations énergétiques. C’est un montant d’environ 100 milliards d’euros par an qui est versé à la Russie pour l’approvisionnement en combustibles fossiles. Cette dépendance évidente a souvent fait l’objet de contestations, mais c’est la guerre en Ukraine qui a donné l’ultime élan à l’Europe pour prendre les mesures nécessaires.

Dès lors, la Commission européenne (CE) a dû s’adapter pour ne plus être une source de financement pour la Russie, s’émanciper des combustibles fossiles russes d’ici 2030 et redéfinir une stratégie énergétique plus proche des valeurs européennes et du Pacte Vert. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, la Commission va devoir trouver des moyens de substitution aux importations russes, équivalentes à 40% de gaz, 27% de pétrole et 46% de charbon importé dans l’ensemble de l’UE.

En réponse à ce nouveau défi, le plan REPowerEU : une action européenne conjointe pour une énergie plus abordable, plus sûre et plus durable a été présentée dans une communication de la Commission du 8 mars 2022.

Vers une souveraineté énergétique européenne

Les différents paquets de sanctions européennes constituent un premier pas vers l’obtention de cette indépendance énergétique. Parmi les différentes sanctions économiques figurent l’interdiction des importations de charbon et pétrole en provenance de Russie, ainsi que l’interdiction de nouveaux investissements dans le secteur de l’énergie russe.

Le plan énergétique REPowerEU, élaboré en accord avec le paquet de propositions « Ajustement à l’objectif 55 » repose sur deux piliers :

Pour atteindre rapidement ces objectifs ambitieux, la Commission estime que des investissements supplémentaires à hauteur de 210 milliards d’euros d’ici 2027 sont nécessaires.

La remise en cause de la réalisation du plan REPowerEU

Un financement qui fait débat

L’abandon des importations de combustibles fossiles russes représente la première source de financement. L’UE pourrait alors économiser jusqu’à 100 milliards d’euros par an ; mais le plan sera principalement financé grâce aux plans de relances nationaux. L’enveloppe financière de la Facilité pour la reprise et la résilience (FRR), instrument phare du plan de relance NextGenerationEU, met déjà à disposition 225 milliards d’euros sous forme de prêts.

La Commission propose de compléter l’enveloppe FRR avec :

Ces transferts permettent aux États membres de prélever une partie des sommes qu’ils versent au fonds de cohésion et au Fonds européen agricole pour le développement rural pour les consacrer au financement de REPowerEU. Mais cette perspective n’est pas bien accueillie par la commission du développement régional (REGI) du Parlement européen qui fait barrière. Son président Younous Omarjee a déclaré : « La question des transferts a déjà été négociée et clôturée (…). La possibilité déjà existante de transferts de 5% représente une contribution suffisante de la politique de cohésion aux objectifs de REPowerEU, d’autant plus que la position initiale du Parlement européen était de rejeter tout transfert ».

En effet, la CE a annoncé dans une Communication du 18 mai 2022 élargir la possibilité de transferts de 5% à 12,5% dans le cadre du plan REPowerEU, à condition que les États membres aient utilisé la possibilité de transfert de 5 % déjà disponible. Malgré les inquiétudes de la commission REGI, le Parlement européen affirme dans sa résolution du 23 juin 2022 (2021/2251(INI)) qu’il « (…) se félicite, dans ce contexte, de la proposition visant à encourager l’utilisation optimale des prêts disponibles au titre de la FRR ».

Partageant les mêmes craintes que la commission REGI, les Régions de France ont adressé une lettre au président de la République le 20 mai dernier expliquant que REPowerEU pourrait constituer le « cheval de Troie » d’une forme de renationalisation de la politique de cohésion.

Quel sera l’impact de ce transfert plus important pour les collectivités territoriales, associations et autres structures bénéficiant des fonds des programmes européens, qui se voient retirées une partie de leurs financements ?

Une efficacité relative

Les 27 défendant des positions énergétiques différentes, il est certain que la réalisation de ce plan énergétique, notamment la dimension législative, fera l’objet de longs débats. La Commission semble confiante, mais les critiques concernant les ambitions et les contraintes du plan REPowerEU sont déjà nombreuses : l’absence d’un plan d’action commun, des combustibles fossiles encore trop présents, un risque pour la sécurité énergétique du fait de la diversification de l’approvisionnement, une estimation insuffisante des coûts ou encore un projet qualifié de trop ambitieux.

Il faut également se prémunir des décisions d’investissements prises dans l’urgence qui ne feraient que perpétuer la dépendance européenne. L’achat commun de GNL auprès des Etats-Unis qui affirment clairement vouloir se substituer à la Russie comme fournisseur principal, ou bien l’achat de panneaux photovoltaïques à la Chine, qui s’est imposé lors des dernières négociations commerciales. Ces investissements ne font-ils pas que déplacer l’origine de la dépendance ?

Sur le marché de l’énergie, l’Europe est manifestement dépendante des importations dans la mesure où les ressources sur le sol européen sont insuffisantes, du moins à court terme. Dès lors, même si certaines critiques sont fondées, la Commission européenne n’a pas d’autre choix que d’agir rapidement pour contrebalancer la fin du partenariat énergétique russo-européen.

 

Imane Mouchi

Eurofunding rassemble plus de 300 programmes de subventions européens mis à jour et liés à des alertes hebdomadaires sur les appels à projets. Inscrivez-vous gratuitement et ne manquez plus aucune opportunité.

S'abonner à l'eurofunding

Actualités similaires

29 juin 2022

Les OCS sur 2021-2027, la simplification attendue ?

Lire l'article

9 juin 2021

Nouveauté à Welcomeurope !

Lire l'article

Programmes

Next Generation EU 2021-2027
Fonds Européen de Cohésion - 2021-2027